Contest!

It’s summer, and in summer I usually reread some of my favourite stories from childhood, outside in the gazebo if at all possible.   It slows life down for me, if only for a few hours, and brings me back to the time I first discovered my love of reading.  It feels like a gift and puts me in a mood for giving, so what better time for another contest?

In 100 words or less, tell me about a book from childhood that you loved, and you’ll enter a contest to win a very nice edition to add to your home library.  Contest closes August 22.

This entry was posted in Current Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Contest!

  1. Letizia says:

    What a fun idea! I will tweet this out to my writer friends!

  2. Hi Naomi,
    This is way too late for a contest entry–I have been traveling and out of touch. But I just want to tell you that I loved “The Witch of Blackbird Pond” by Elizabeth George Speare when I was in fifth grade. I reread it several times growing up, I read it aloud to my children, and gave copies to my nieces. It is about a young woman in colonial America who struggles to find her place in a world where she doesn’t really fit in. It is about finding yourself, your family, your voice, your path, Nd it has such a satisfying conclusion. It made an impression on me when I was young, had just lost my dad, and felt like the square peg trying to fit into a round hole.

    • Naomi says:

      I loved this book for exactly the same reasons and you’re the only one who entered the contest, so you’ve just won yourself a copy. Please email me your contact info and I’ll send one to you straight away!

      • Oh, my gosh, Naomi! That is really exciting, and I am delighted to hear your response and to feel the pleasure one knows when another person understands and shares your feeling for a book that has touched you. But you don’t need to send me a copy of it. I’m sure I have a copy on my shelf somewhere, probably on one of my big shelves in the rec room, where I keep it in case I need to pass it along to someone who I just know will love it like I do, or so that I can read it through one more time to my as yet unborn grandchildren a few years down the road. But I want to say thank you for your generosity and for helping me to remember a wonderful story.

  3. One year late, but I couldn’t resist….Like an anonymous ghost with no descendants, the poem Hannibal Clim haunts me and my brother fifty years after we read it on our mother’s lap. She recited it in hushed tones, crisp consonants and dramatic pauses with three kids crushed against her. I thought it was in a book because I had a clear image of the dragon illustration, but my brother says I’m confusing it with another story. Hannibal Clim is one of our strongest memories yet we’re not certain we’ve recalled it in its entirety, though we’ve come close. Google, it seems, doesn’t know everything.

  4. kinneret says:

    Hi Naomi,
    Too late for your contest but two of my favorite books to read as a child were “The Funny Little Woman” (Arlene Mosel/Blair Lent) and the Dorrie the Witch series by Patricia Coombs. I just loved the graphic illustrations and fantasy that accompany both. (The Funny Little Woman, in case you don’t know it, is about a little old woman in Japan who loses her rice ball and chases it down underneath her house inside a subterranean underworld with a hades like river and weird three-eyed Oni monsters.)

Leave a Reply

