The Rosie Project, Graeme Simsion

The Rosie Project, Graeme Simsion
HarperCollins, 324 pages
ISBN 9781443422666

Genetics professor Don Tillman organizes his fridge around a seven-day preplanned supper rotation. He follows a rigid daily schedule, considers a Gore-Tex jacket perfectly acceptable attire for fine dining, and misreads social cues all the time. Despite the evidence, he fails to see that his lecture on Asperger’s Syndrome might somehow be relevant to his own life. All Don knows is that he’s single, he’s estranged from his family, and he has two friends in the world.

As he approaches his fortieth birthday, Don decides that it’s time to get married. He’s a dating disaster; he doesn’t know how to make small talk, he argues over trivial details, and he offends his dates left, right, and centre. His last date abandoned him in the ice-cream line and he’d rather not relive that experience, so he devises a sixteen-page questionnaire designed to empirically identify his ideal woman. He calls it “The Wife Project.”

The Wife Project leads Don to Rosie, who definitely does not meet the stringent criteria. She does, however, intrigue Don with a project of her own. And when Don ventures to step out of the box he inhabits, he learns how to make life with Asperger’s a little more livable.

Funny, touching, and emotionally astute, this novel will appeal to readers of Lisa Genova’s Left Neglected and Melissa Bank’s The Girl’s Guide to Hunting and Fishing.

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Current Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Rosie Project, Graeme Simsion

  1. Alex says:

    I heard Graeme Simsion interviewed yesterday and immediately re-evaluated my thoughts about this book. I’d seen it reviewed and thought it not for me, but having heard him talk about it I began to change my mind. If you’ve enjoyed it as well then I’m clearly going to have do a complete about turn and get hold of a copy.

    • Naomi says:

      It was a hard one to review because the premise sounds so fluffy, but it’s not a flaky read at all. I didn’t cover this in the review, but I thought that one of its strongest merits was its ability to convey the conflict between logic and emotion – think Spock from Star Trek or Doc Martin, only Simsion avoids turning Don into a caricature or a buffoon. He writes beautifully of life with Aspergers, and I certainly enjoyed it.

  2. Dear Naomi,
    I have to read this book, and buy one for my sister too! She is dating someone with Aspergers. I am pleased to hear that the protagonist never becomes a caricature or a buffoon, and I think this would give her some insight into their relationship. Thank you so much!

  3. Pingback: Review: The Rosie Project | Giraffe Days

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s