April is Poetry Month – a poem and a YouTube link this week

I’ve received quite a few stories from authors over the past few weeks (including one that my three year old has hidden somewhere in the house – sorry, Mary!), and am up to my eyeballs in reading at the moment.  I’m planning to post mini-reviews of three or four of them for next week.

This week, in honour of Poetry Month, I’m posting a Spring poem by e.e.cummings and a YouTubelink where you can hear the author read the poem himself.  I don’t love cummings’ politics, but I do love his poetry.  Here’s [in Just-], which paints a nice portrait of the muddy, rainsplashy Spring we’re having at the moment.  I found this copy on http://www.poetryfoundation.org, a site well worth visiting.

[in Just-]

BY E. E. CUMMINGS

in Just-

spring          when the world is mud-

luscious the little

lame balloonman

whistles          far          and wee

and eddieandbill come

running from marbles and

piracies and it’s

spring

when the world is puddle-wonderful

the queer

old balloonman whistles

far          and             wee

and bettyandisbel come dancing

from hop-scotch and jump-rope and

it’s

spring

and

the

goat-footed

balloonMan          whistles

far

and

wee

This entry was posted in Current Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to April is Poetry Month – a poem and a YouTube link this week

  1. Alex says:

    I love cummings’ work and this is one of my favourites. That wonderful expression mud-luscious! Anyone who has anything to do with children knows exactly what he meant.

  2. Ditto (re. e.e.). Hope you find DV, and that it’s not hiding anywhere mudlicious…. 😉

  3. Touch2Touch says:

    I’ve always loved many of e.e. cummings’ poems —
    but have never heard his own voice before. Oddly, I found it off-putting.
    And what is there about his politics? I think in this one instance I have an intuition that the less said, the better! The less known, too —

Leave a Reply

