Moon Tiger by Penelope Lively

Moon Tiger, Penelope Lively

Grove Press, 208 pages

ISBN 0802135331

Slowly, in a London hospital, the renowned historian Claudia Hampton lay dying of cancer.  She is in the last stages of the disease; her body has lost the ability to do very much and her mind drifts in and out of consciousness.  When she is awake, however, she is sharp enough to want occupation, so she decides to spend her final days mentally writing a history of the world using her own life as a framework.

Claudia’s inner voice tells her story through her relationships with those most closely connected to her and through the political events of her time.  In childhood, she formed a highly intimate bond with her brother Gordon as they hunted for fossils, studied Classics, and felt the first stirrings of sexuality.  The two separated in late adolescence to pursue their studies, and after a solid education in History, Claudia entered the political sphere by becoming a war correspondent.  In Cairo, she fell in love with Tom Southern, an army captain, and the two began to make plans for their life together after the war.  Tom, however, did not survive, leaving Claudia to construct a meaningful reality that would always be second best.

Moon Tiger floats between past and present as it reveals the path of Claudia’s life.  After the war, she abandoned journalism to concentrate on writing history books that people would actually want to read, and was quite successful.  She reconnected with her brother on slightly altered terms, became permanently attached to the dashing if unreliable Jasper through the birth of their daughter, and became the unexpected protector of a young Hungarian refugee whose home country was in the midst of a revolution.

Poetic, moving, and psychologically astute, Moon Tiger will appeal to readers of Michael Ondaatje, Margaret Atwood and A.S. Byatt.

 

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Current Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Moon Tiger by Penelope Lively

  1. I loved this book. Thank you for reminding me about it. 🙂

  2. Alex says:

    Coincidentally, I was thinking about this book while I was our walking this morning trying to plan our Literature Summer School. I want to offer three books with Egyptian connections and this was one that I thought I might put into the list. The fact that I would like an excuse to read it again, has nothing to do with it, of course!

    • Naomi says:

      Yes, this one does have strong Egyptian connections in addition to being a great read. Unfortunately, I haven’t read many other novels set in that area, so I can’t recommend anything. Can anyone else help out?

  3. Touch2Touch says:

    I loved this book, and I very much admire Penelope Lively’s writings.
    I don’t know if you’ll like these, and they’re from years ago, but Lawrence Durrell’s The Alexandria Quartet, is, as it says, a tetralogy of novels with interlinking characters and overlays of narrative. I adored them. (Four different tellings of essentially the same events in the lives of the same characters.)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s