Apologies from the land of the sick and the maimed

Hi everyone.  It’s been a pretty miserable week all around.  My six year old son’s been recovering from two bad bumps on the head (nothing to worry about, just goes with the territory of being a six year old boy), my three year old daughter came down with a horrible cold and fever, and yesterday, both of them woke up with a 24 hour stomach flu.  On top of it all, I caught the terrible cold that’s been going around, so I’ve been drinking plenty of lemon honey tea and sleeping.  I somehow managed to finish Marian Keyes’ latest novel (I thought it was fabulous) and start another one by Carrie Snyder.  At least one of the reviews will be up in the next few days, and I apologize for the lateness.

Now I’m going back to bed.  Hope you’re all hale and healthy.

This entry was posted in Older Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Apologies from the land of the sick and the maimed

  1. You poor dear! Oh, my gosh, I hope the storm passes soon, and you all feel better soon, Sending you virtual hugs and chicken soup!

  2. lynnwyvill says:

    Oh, my, you’ve had a very hard week! The most important thing is to sleep, rest and hydrate. Hope all of you are much better soon.

    • Naomi says:

      Thank you! I’m sleeping as much as I can, and fortunately the kids are well enough by this point to be out at school and daycare (the daycare is just two days a week). I have a quiet house today, so I’m using my time to rest.

  3. Alex says:

    The Bears send their sympathy and ask me to remind you of the therapeutic effects of honey. Their other cure all is marmalade sandwiches, which might go down better with the children.

    • Naomi says:

      Thank you for the reminders! I sent my husband out to get some honey last night, and I have a jar of lemon marmalade in the fridge right now. And it’s lunchtime…. 🙂

  4. paulaacton says:

    the joys of parenthood we seem to have a head injury form in the monsters schoolbag everyother day

    • Naomi says:

      It’s all part of the experience, I think. Our son tripped on his Halloween costume on the 31st and landed on his forehead, and then a few days later he got bonked in the head playing dodgeball at a birthday party. Poor kid! He’ll live, but now he’s pretty wary of flying objects…

  5. Hope you managed to get some rest out of it and at least you had a good book to read. Not much fun though being unwell. But good to have it out of the way before Christmas, that’s when I tend to get ill, when I finally slow down 🙂

    • Naomi says:

      Yes, that’s when it happens to me, too. I spent the last three years doing a Masters degree at night, and ever since, I’ve caught every cold and flu bug that’s come into the house. Thanks for the good wishes, and you’re right, it’s much nicer to get it out of the way before the holidays.

Leave a Reply

