Suspicion by Rachel Wyatt

Coteau Books sent me two books for review from their fall lineup, and I enjoyed both.  I featured Blood and Salt on Thursday’s post, and I thought I’d add Suspicion as a bonus for the weekend.
Suspicion, Rachel Wyatt

Coteau Books, 237 pages

ISBN 9781550505177

On a chilly Friday morning, Candace Wilson found herself with some unexpected free time.  She had booked a dental appointment for 8:30, but when she arrived, the office was closed and nobody had called to reschedule.  Instead of heading straight for work, Candace decided to use her unclaimed hour to go for a walk and reflect on her life.  She and Jack had struggled for years with infertility, and never had come to any sort of firm decision about whether or not to adopt.  They needed to talk about it, but maybe not now, when Jack’s latest development on the town’s waterfront was stirring up so much controversy.  Even Candace’s own sister was against it, not that they’d ever been close. But now Candace and Jack were so paralyzed by their setbacks that they couldn’t make decisions, not even choosing proper furniture for their home.  There had been a lot of stress and the cracks were starting to show.   Candace ambled distractedly past the building site and tripped, falling into a hole in the ground and breaking her leg.  She called for help, but nobody was around to hear her.

When Candace fails to show up for work and doesn’t return home that night, everyone knows something is wrong. And in a town where the police officer, the mayor, and the developer have known each other since high school, everyone has a theory about who is responsible.  Psychologically astute, Suspicion tells a very human story of family tensions, false assumptions and a town falling apart as it tries to work together.  This gripping novel will undoubtedly appeal to readers of Catherine Gildiner and Richard Russo.

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Older Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s